THE INSTITUTIONS OF THE UNION OF THE COMOROS

The National Assembly is, according to the Constitution, the legislative committee of the Union. It is consisted of thirty-three members of parliament elected for a mandate of fi ve (5) years.

Moroni - L'Assemblée

ASSEMBLY OF THE UNION
Its members are appointed by the Assemblies of the islands, at the rate of fi ve members of parliament by island; eighteen others are elected by direct universal suffrage within the framework of an election on a majority basis for a single candidate in two rounds. No member of the Assembly of the Union can be pursued, looked for, arrested, detained or judged on the base of opinions or the votes emitted by him during the practice his duties. Any imperative mandate is invalid and the right to vote of the members of the Assembly of the Union is personal. The law of the Union can exceptionally authorise the delegation of vote to another deputy. In that case, nobody can receive delegation of more than a mandate. The Assembly of the Union meets as of right in two common sessions a year, the total duration of which cannot exceed six months. It is gathered in extraordinary session, at the request of the President of the Union or of the absolute majority of the members of parliament, on a defi - nite agenda. The extraordinary session cannot exceed fi fteen days as from its meeting. The sessions of the Assembly of the Union are as a rule public. The initiative of the laws belongs in conjunction to the President of the Union and to the members of parliament. Bills are deliberated in the Council of Ministers and deposited at the offi ce of the Assembly of the Union.

ASSEMBLY OF ANJOUAN
The Assembly of the island is, according to the Constitution, the legislative organ of the autonomous island of Anjouan. The members of parliament are elected in the direct universal suffrage and in the uninominal system in two rounds. The number of members of parliament is fi xed to 25. The members of parliament are elected for a mandate of four years. Every Comorian citizen is eligible for the seat of deputy and should be of Anjouan origin, with good morality, and who his civil rights 30-year-old past at the polling day and having lived at least eighteen months without discontinuity on the territory of the Union of the Comoros. The candidate for a seat of deputy must know how to read, to write, to understand and to master at least two of the three offi cial languages of the Union of the Comoros. The Assembly of the island meets as of right in two common sessions every year. The fi rst session begins the fi rst Thursday of September of every year. Its duration cannot exceed three months.

ASSEMBLY OF MOHELI
The legislative power is exercised by the assembly of the island of Mohéli which consists of ten deputies elected in the direct universal suffrage for a mandate of four years, according to the voting system for a single member in two rounds. The candidates have to be at least over 25 years at the date of the ballot, knowing how to read, write, and speak the Shikomor, French or Arabic. The law fi xes the other conditions of eligibility, the regime of incompatibility as well as the conditions and the modalities of replacement of the members of parliament in case of vacancy until the renewal of the legislative assembly. No deputy can be pursued, looked for, arrested, detained or judged on the occasion of the opinions or the votes emitted by him when exercising his duties. The assembly of the island meets in two common sessions every year. The fi rst one begins on the fi rst of the month of April and the second on the fi rst of the month of October. The assembly of the island can also meet in an extraordinary session either at the request of the President of the executive of the island or at the request of the majority of the members composing it, on a defi - nite agenda. A common session lasts at most forty fi ve days and an extraordinary session fi fteen days at most.

ASSEMBLY DE NGAZIDJA
According to the Constitution of Ngazidja, the legislative power of the island is exercised by the Assembly of the island. The deputies are elected with a delegate in the direct universal suffrage within the framework of an election on a majority basis for a single member in two rounds. The candidates must be at least over 25 years old on December 31st of the year which precedes that of the ballot and must know how to read and write at least two of the three offi cial languages and have lived at least six (06) months before the date of the ballot without discontinuity in the Union. According to the Constitution, the mandate of deputy is incompatible with the exercise of any other elective public mandate and any public employment, and the deputy named member of the Government of the island or of the Union is outgoing automatic of its mandate and replaced by his delegate. The Assembly of the island of Ngazidja meets on the last Friday of March and on the last Friday of November. It can also meet in an extraordinary session at the request of the President of the island or the majority of the members composing of the Assembly of the island, on a defi nite agenda. A common session lasts at most sixty days and an extraordinary session a fortnight at most.

THE CONSTITUTIONAL COURT
The Constitutional court is, according to the Constitution of the Union, the judge of the constitutionality of the laws of the Union and of the Islands. It sees to the conformity of the electoral operations so much on the Islands that at the level of the Union, including in referendum matters; it is the judge of the electoral litigation. Finally, it guarantees the fundamental human rights and the civil liberties. Every citizen can seize the Constitutional court on the constitutionality of the laws, either directly, or by the procedure of the exception of unconstitutionality called in a case by which it is concerned in front of a jurisdiction of the Union or Islands. The latter has to defer until the decision of the Constitutional Court which has to intervene within thirty days. The president of the Union, the vice-presidents of the Union, the president of the Assembly of the Union as well as the Leaders of the Executives of the islands each appoint a member of the Constitutional Court. According to the Constitution, the members of the Constitutional Court have to be of high morality and integrity as well as of a recognized competence in the legal, administrative, economic or social fi eld. They have to prove a minimum working experience of fi fteen years. They are appointed for a renewable mandate of six years. The members of the Constitutional court are irremovable. Except if caught red-handed, they cannot be pursued and detained without the authorisation of the High Jurisdiction.

Presentation
Presentation of the Comoros

The Comoro Archipelago is situated in the Northeast of Madagascar, at the entrance of the Mozambique Channel. It consists of four islands: Grande Comore (Ngazidja), Anjouan (Ndzwani)... More »

The institutions
The institutions

The National Assembly is, according to the Constitution, the legislative committee of the Union. It is consisted of thirty-three members of parliament elected for a mandate of fi ve (5) years... More »

The economy
The economy

The state economy is characterised by the predominance of agriculture, fishing and farming, which represents more than 40 % of the GDP. The farming sector constitutes of the... More »

The media
The média

Year 2009 which starts will be marked by the holding of the general States of the press, the first national conference of the media, supported by the president of the republic himself, Ahmed Abdallah Sambi... More »

Official Guide 2009

More video

Photo Galery

Comoros News

LES INSTITUTIONS DE L'UNION DES COMORES

L’Assemblée nationale est, selon la Constitution, l’organe législatif de l’Union. Elle est composée de trente trois députés élus pour un mandat de cinq (5) ans.

Moroni - L'Assemblée
Ses membres sont désignés par les Assemblées des îles, à raison de cinq députés par île ; dix-huit autres sont élus au suffrage universel direct dans le cadre d’un scrutin majoritaire uninominal à deux tours. Aucun membre de l’Assemblée de l’Union ne peut être poursuivi, recherché, arrêté, détenu ou jugé à l’occasion des opinions ou votes émis par lui dans l’exercice de ses fonctions Tout mandat impératif est nul et le droit de vote des membres de l’Assemblée de l’Union est personnel. La loi de l’Union peut autoriser exceptionnellement la délégation de vote à un autre député. Dans ce cas, nul ne peut recevoir délégation de plus d’un mandat. L’Assemblée de l’Union se réunit de plein droit en deux sessions ordinaires par an, dont la durée totale ne peut excéder six mois. Elle est réunie en session extraordinaire, à la demande du Président de l’Union ou de la majorité absolue des députés, sur un ordre du jour déterminé. La session extraordinaire ne peut excéder quinze jours à compter de sa réunion. Les séances de l’Assemblée de l’Union sont en principe publiques. L’initiative des lois appartient concurremment au Président de l’Union et aux députés. Les projets de loi sont délibérés en Conseil des ministres et déposés sur le bureau de l’Assemblée de l’Union.

ASSEMBLEE D’ANJOUAN

L’Assemblée de l’île est, selon la Constitution, l’organe législatif de l’île autonome d’Anjouan. Les députés sont élus au suffrage universel direct et au scrutin uninominal à deux tours. Le nombre des députés est fi xé à 25. Les députés sont élus pour un mandat de quatre ans. Est éligible en qualité de député tout citoyen comorien d’origine anjouanaise de bonne moralité qui jouit de ses droits civiques âgé de 30 ans révolus au jour des élections et ayant résidé au moins dix huit mois sans discontinuité sur le territoire de l’Union des Comores. Le candidat à un siège de député doit savoir lire écrire comprendre et maîtriser au moins deux des trois langues offi cielles de l’Union des Comores. L’Assemblée de l’île se réunit de plein droit en deux sessions ordinaires chaque année. La première session commence le premier jeudi du mois de septembre de chaque année. Sa durée ne peut excéder trois mois.

ASSEMBLEE DE MOHELI

Le pouvoir législatif est exercé par l’assemblée de l’île de Mohéli qui est composée de dix députés élus au suffrage universel direct pour un mandat de quatre ans, selon le mode de scrutin uninominal à deux tours. Les candidats doivent avoir au moins 25 ans révolus à la date du scrutin, sachant lire, écrire, et parler le shikomor, le français ou l’arabe. La loi fi xe les autres conditions d’éligibilité, le régime d’incompatibilité ainsi que les conditions et modalités de remplacement des députés en cas de vacances jusqu’au renouvellement de l’assemblée législative. Aucun député ne peut être poursuivi, recherché, arrêté, détenu ou jugé à l’occasion des opinions ou votes émis par lui dans l’exercice de ses fonctions. L’assemblée de l’île se réunit en deux sessions ordinaires chaque année. La première commence le premier du mois d’avril et la seconde le premier du mois d’octobre. L’assemblée de l’île peut également se réunir en session extraordinaire soit à la demande du Président de l’exécutif de l’île soit à la demande de la majorité des membres la composant, sur un ordre du jour déterminé. Une session ordinaire dure au maximum quarante cinq jours et une session extraordinaire quinze jours au maximum.

ASSEMBLEE DE NGAZIDJA

Selon la Constitution de Ngazidja, le pouvoir législatif de l’île est exercé par l’Assemblée de l’île. Les députés sont élus avec un suppléant au suffrage universel direct dans le cadre d’un scrutin majoritaire uninominal à deux tours. Les candidats doivent avoir au moins 25 ans révolus au 31 décembre de l’année qui précède celle du scrutin et savoir lire et écrire au moins deux de trois langues offi cielles et avoir résidé au moins six (06) mois avant la date du scrutin sans discontinuité dans l’Union. Selon la Constitution, le mandat de député est incompatible avec l’exercice de tout autre mandat public électif et de tout emploi public et le député nommé membre du Gouvernement de l’île ou de l’Union est démissionnaire d’offi ce de son mandat et remplacé par son suppléant. L’Assemblée de l’île de Ngazidja se réunit le dernier vendredi du mois de mars et le dernier vendredi du mois de novembre. Elle peut également se réunir en session extraordinaire à la demande du Président de l’île ou de la majorité des membres composant l’Assemblée de l’île, sur un ordre du jour déterminé. Une session ordinaire dure au maximum soixante jours et une session extraordinaire quinze jours au maximum.

LA COUR CONSTITUTIONNELLE

La Cour constitutionnelle est, selon la Constitution de l’Union, le juge de la constitutionnalité des lois de l’Union et des Iles. Elle veille à la régularité des opérations électorales tant dans les Iles qu’au niveau de l’Union, y compris en matière de référendum ; elle est juge du contentieux électoral. Elle garantit enfi n les droits fondamentaux de la personne humaine et les libertés publiques. Tout citoyen peut saisir la Cour constitutionnelle sur la constitutionnalité des lois, soit directement, soit par la procédure de l’exception d’inconstitutionnalité invoquée dans une affaire qui le concerne devant une juridiction de l’Union ou des Iles. Celle-ci doit surseoir jusqu’à la décision de la Cour constitutionnelle qui doit intervenir dans un délai de trente jours. Le président de l’Union, les viceprésidents de l’Union, le président de l’Assemblée de l’Union ainsi que les Chefs des Exécutifs des Iles nomment chacun un membre de la Cour constitutionnelle. Selon la Constitution, les membres de la Cour constitutionnelle doivent être de grande moralité et probité ainsi que d’une compétence reconnue dans le domaine juridique, administratif, économique ou social. Ils doivent justifi er d’une expérience professionnelle minimale de quinze ans. Ils sont nommés pour un mandat de six ans renouvelable. Les membres de la Cour constitutionnelle sont inamovibles. Sauf cas de fl agrant délit, ils ne peuvent être poursuivis et arrêtés sans l’autorisation de la Haute Juridiction.

Présentation
Présentation des Comores

L’Archipel des Comores est situé au Nord-Est de Madagascar, à l’entrée du Canal de Mozambique. Il est composé de quatre îles : la Grande Comore (Ngazidja), Anjouan (Ndzwani), Mohéli (Mwali)... Lire la suite »

Les institutions
Les institutions

L’Assemblée nationale est, selon la Constitution, l’organe législatif de l’Union. Elle est composée de trente trois députés élus pour un mandat de cinq (5) ans. Ses membres sont désignés par les... Lire la suite »

L'économie
L'économie

L’économie nationale est caractérisée par la prédominance de l’agriculture, de la pêche et de l’élevage, qui représente plus de 40% du PIB. Ce secteur agricole constitue l’essentiel des recettes d’exportation du... Lire la suite »

Les médias
Les médias

L’année 2009 qui s’ouvre sera marquée par la tenue des Etats généraux de la presse, la première assise nationale des médias, appuyée par le président de la république luimême, Ahmed Abdallah Sambi... Lire la suite »

Official Guide 2009

More video

Photo Galery

Documents à télécharger

Comores Actualités